Extreme Composting

Hello All,

 

       Well, it’s a new semester and a new year. I had a fun time in Ecuador over interim studying my Spanish as well as taking note of/studying the environment and Ecuadorians relationship to the environment. Although I wish I could be there right now in the nice warm temperatures, I’m in the now snowy and cold weather of Pennsylvania. This might be the reason why I’ve been taking the full allotted six minute showers compared to four or five minute showers, as I’m cold while taking a shower so I lose track of time and just stand there and enjoy the warmth selfishly. I felt like while I was in Ecuador I took relatively short showers whether it was a hostel, hotel, or host family. Anywhere I go I try to be as sustainable as possible and recycle where I can. I felt bad while in Ecuador because I had to use on-the-go foods and items which used a decent amount of wrapping, as we were traveling and all. Also, I felt bad when it came to throwing away recyclables as there aren’t many recycling locations available unless you save them all up and keep them with you until you reach a certain gas station or other place that recycles. Something that we realized was that composting only occurred in some of the students’ host family’s houses whereas in others, such as my family’s house, they didn’t compost nor have an idea of how to compost. Which segues in to how we’re doing with composting here at the Sustainability House.

        I’m in charge of waste this month and it’s been going well so far. I’ve made the goal for the house members to increase compost by 15% in February. As of right now, we have about seven more pounds of compost than recyclables and we have yet to have any trash recorded. That’s a lot of cardboard and paper to rip into pieces, as you can see in the pictures below (our browns bin always gets so full and over time the rain and nature pushes the browns down for more composting fun). I have high hopes and it appears as though we are on the right track for this month in terms of our waste, good job guys!

 

Pics for Blog #1.PNG

 

Leave a Reply

